The Marketing Academy reveals its 2017 scholars

The scholarship this year will focus on the redefined 4Ps of marketing – people development, personal development, professional development and purpose.

The Marketing Academy Scholars

The Marketing Academy has revealed the 30 emerging marketing leaders that will take part in its Scholarship Programme this year.

The scholars, who come from brands and agencies including Deliveroo, AMV BBDO, BT and VCCP, will take part in the 9-month scheme, that aims to prepare marketers for their journey to become senior industry leaders.

Now in its eighth year, the programme puts nominees through a highly competitive selection process that includes pitches, face-to-face interviews and a selection panel. This year, more than 350 people were nominated for the free programme, which this year is sponsored by Microsoft, ITV, Facebook and BT. Marketing Week is also a partner, while companies including PHD, Google, Kantar Millward Brown, Eat Big Fish, Brand Learning and The Living Leader also provide support.

This year’s scheme focuses on four core learning modules that redefine the 4Ps of marketing. These are personal development – be an extraordinary human being; people development – be an inspirational leader; professional development – be an exceptional marketer; and purpose – be a change maker.

Alongside immersive boot camps and lectures, scholars receive executive coaching and one-on-one mentoring sessions. Mentors this year include some of the biggest names in the industry including Unilever’s Keith Weed, John Lewis’s Craig Inglis and Peter Duffy from EasyJet.

This year’s scholars are

Adam Holmes Sliide Head of brand experience
Alex Kenny Fletchers Solicitors Marketing director
Alice Ter Haar Deliveroo International Marketing Manager
Amber Kirby Boots UK Ltd Global brand director skincare, healthcare and Boots brands
Andrew Brown Hasbro Brand manager
Anna Covell AMV BBDO Board account director
Bernardo Donkor Microsoft Social media analyst
Brendan Dinen ITV Plc Marketing manager
Caroline Gorrie Procter & Gamble Brand manager Pampers, P&G Northern Europe
Charlotte Hamill Born Social Managing director
Charlotte Langley L’Oréal UK & Ireland Senior product manager – Maybelline
Charlotte Nairne-Clark Aviva Senior brand and sponsorship manager
Clare Beaumont-Adam Independents United (IU) Co-owner
Emi Laughton-Knott BT Head of acquisition marketing
Georgina Altman VCCP Senior strategic planner
Hannah Debenham BTDT Global Strategic curator
James Ashall Diageo Director, Diageo Futures
Jessica Haigh Cedar Communications Business director
Lottie Unwin Propercorn Head of marketing
Louise Thompson Britvic Soft Drinks Ltd Strategic marketing and innovation manager
Luke Gregory Facebook Digital marketing manager
Max Dickins Hoopla Business Founder
Nic Yeeles Peg Co-founder and CEO
Nick Miller Guardian Media Group Senior marketing manager
Ollie Humphries Soundscape Founder and managing director
Sarah Walmsley British Airways Digital content manager
Seun Shobande McGarryBowen Account director
Silke Wexoe Bow and Arrow Strategy lead
Steve Marks adidas Director of sports marketing
Tash Walker The Mix Founder

Alongside the new scholars, The Marketing Academy has also unveiled the winners of the ‘Mentor Award’. Selected by the scholars, it recognises the leaders that have made an extra impact.

Founder of The Marketing Academy Sherilyn Shackell says: “We are so lucky to have some of the UK’s greatest marketers and leaders donate their time to advise, encourage and share experiences with our Scholars. We created the Mentor Awards as a way to celebrate those extraordinary people who donate their valuable time to help develop the next generation of leaders.”

This year’s winners are:

Andy Duncan, CEO, Camelot
Ben Fennell, CEO, BBH
Camilla Harrisson, partner and CEO, Anomaly London
Catherine Flynn, senior leader, Facebook
Charles Allen, marketing director, Arsenal Football Club
Cilla Snowball, group chairman and CEO, AMV BBDO
Craig Inglis, customer director, John Lewis
Ed Smith, consultant with Dentsu Aegis
Fiona Dawson, President Mars Food, Drinks and Multisales, Mars UK
James Scroggs, founder, HOOP London
Keith Moor, CMO, Santander
Marc Lewis, Dean of School of Communication Arts
Mark Evans, group marketing director, Direct Line Group
Michelle Hutton, CEO, Edelman
Mike Hughes, former Director General, ISBA
Paul Frampton, CEO, Havas Media Group UK
Peter Markey, marketing director, TSB
Phil Rumbol, Founder, 101
Philippa Snare, CMO EMEA, Facebook
Richard Tyler, chief possibility architect, BTFI
Rita Clifton, Chairman, Brandcap
Ros King, director of marketing communications, Lloyds Banking Group
Sally Cowdry, consumer and retail director, Camelot UK
Sara Cremer, CEO, Redwood Group
Shadi Halliwell, group marketing & creative director, Harvey Nichols
Simon Biltcliffe, managing director, Webmart
Stephen Miron, group CEO, Global Media Group
Suki Thompson, Founder, Oystercatchers
Tim Duffy, CEO, M&C Saatchi
Toby Jenner, Worldwide COO, MediaCom Worldwide

To find out more information about The Marketing Academy, the new scholars and mentoring visit



    Leave a comment