The Marketing Academy reveals its 2016 scholars

The Marketing Academy has selected the 30 emerging leaders that will take part in its 2016 scholarship programme from more than 350 nominations.


The participants, who come from a range of brand, agencies and start-ups including L’Oreal, Facebook and Marks & Spencer, aims to prepare rising stars in the marketing industry for their journey to becoming senior marketing leaders.

Sherilyn Shackell, founder of The Marketing Academy, says: “I’m thrilled by the calibre of applications this year and I’d like to thank all the companies and business leaders who nominated their best people for the programme.

“I’m just sorry we only have 30 scholarship places because if this year’s nominees are anything to go by, the industry’s high potential talent pool is just getting bigger and bigger.”

The full list of scholars is:

Alex Gibson – Product director, Nice Agency
Alex Karonias – Founder and director, Fortis Day
Ben Tyson – Managing director, Born Social
Bizhan Govindji – Senior digital strategist, Ogilvy
Catherine Spencer – Global brand manager Drambuie, William Grant & Sons
Charlotte Green – Senior manager brand identity, Lloyds Banking Group
Cheryl Rosenthal – Brand communications manager, Bupa
Claire Canty – National account manager, Weetabix
Cristina Loaiza – Marketing propositions manager, Sainsbury’s
Duncan Stuart – New business & marketing director, 101
Fritha Hookway – Digital marketing manager, Topshop
Graeme Smeaton – Founder & creator Royal & Awesome, AFG Media
Hannah Penn – Senior account director, AMV BBDO
Hugh Thomas – Co-founder, Ugly Drinks
Jane Stiller – Head of brand and marketing food, Marks and Spencer
Jay Orlean-Taub – Global brand development manager, Quintessential Brands Group
Jessica Crawford – Media director, PHD Media
Joanna Watson – Senior brand manager, Unilever UK and Ireland
Jonathan Marchant – Senior brand manager, Heineken
Katherine Fletcher – Senior innovation manager Africa Innovation, Diageo
Kyrsten Halley – Marketing manager, Jordans, The Jordan & Ryvita Company
Lara Kingwell – Skype product marketing manager for emerging markets, Microsoft
Louise Gregersen – Business marketing manager Nordics, Facebook
Nick Gilmer – Marketing manager, ITV Plc
Ritchie Mehta – Managing director, The Marketing Lounge Partnership CRM & Loyalty
Sarah Keegan – Head of brand, Ovo Energy
Sharrie Anderson – Marketing manager, Mace
Sophie Howard – Account director, 3 Monkeys Communications
Vasileios Kourakis – Senior consumer analytics manager, L’Oréal UK & Ireland
Veronica Dumitrescu – Demand and content manager, Adobe Systems Europe

The free year long programme includes mentoring, coaching and experiential learning and is now in its seventh year. Marketing Week is a headline sponsor of the programme, alongside Adobe, Facebook, ITV, Lloyds Banking Group and Microsoft. To find out more information about The Marketing Academy and the new scholars visit



    Leave a comment